Twitter Ban: “We Convey Our Disappointment” – UK, USA, Canada, EU, Ireland, Release Joint Statement

President Muhammadu Buhari

Following the ban of Twitter operations in Nigeria, the United States of America, the United Kingdom, the Diplomatic Missions of Canada, the European Union and Ireland, have issued a joint statement to condemn the act.

On Friday, June 4, two days after Twitter deleted a tweet from the president of Nigeria for violating its rules, the Ministry of Information and Culture announced that the Nigerian government has “indefinitely suspended” Twitter.

The Nigerian government also proposed registration requirements for other social media.

Canada, UK, USA, Ireland,  and the European Union expressed disappointment in a joint statement that reads: “The diplomatic missions of Canada, the European Union (Delegation to Nigeria), the Republic of Ireland, the United Kingdom and the United States of America convey our disappointment over Nigeria’s announcement suspending #Twitter and proposing registration requirements for other social media.

“We strongly support the fundamental human right of free expression and access to information as a pillar of democracy in Nigeria as around the world and these rights apply online as well as offline. Banning systems of expression is not the answer.

Read Also!  Daily COVID Deaths in Sweden Hit Zero, as Other Nations Brace for More Lockdowns

“These measures inhibit access to information and commerce at precisely the moment when Nigeria needs to foster inclusive dialogue and expression of opinions, as well as share vital information in this time of the COVID-19 pandemic.

“The path to a more secure Nigeria lies in more, not less, communication to accompany the concerted efforts of Nigeria’s citizens in fulsome dialogue toward unity, peace and prosperity. As Nigeria’s partners, we stand ready to assist in achieving these goals.”


Similar Articles:

Read Also!  Obi Cubana: Radical Catholic Priest Slams Ostentatious Display At Burial

Comment Below