Olympiacos Makes History with Europa Conference League Victory

Greek Team Wins First Major European Trophy with Extra-Time Goal

Olympiacos became the first Greek team to win a major European trophy, defeating Fiorentina 1-0 in extra time in the UEFA Europa Conference League final held in Athens.

Ayoub El Kaabi made history by becoming the first player to score 11 goals in a single campaign of a major continental tournament. He headed Santiago Hezze’s cross into the net in the 116th minute, just as the game seemed destined for penalties.

The goal led to wild celebrations after a lengthy VAR check for offside at the AEK Arena. Fiorentina, who lost 2-1 to West Ham United in last year’s final, faced disappointment once again.

Olympiacos coach Jose Luis Mendilibar, who won the UEFA Europa League with Sevilla last season, enjoyed another momentous victory.

The only other Greek team to reach a European final was Panathinaikos, who lost 2-0 to Ajax in the 1971 European Cup final at Wembley.

Fiorentina, under coach Vincenzo Italiano, struggled to capitalize on their opportunities. They had 17 shots compared to Olympiacos’ six, but their finishing lacked precision.

El Kaabi’s decisive goal came from Olympiacos’ fourth effort on target, matching Fiorentina’s total for the night. The Moroccan forward, who has scored an impressive 33 goals this season, was the key to Olympiacos’ triumph, delivering the winner under intense pressure when the game seemed poised for penalties.

See also  Transfer gossip: Chelsea to bring back England defender as Man City move for Barca star

Similar Posts:

Leave a Reply