Manchester City’s Erling Haaland and Arsenal’s Bukayo Saka Shine at PFA Awards

In a celebration of talent and achievement in the football world, Manchester City and Arsenal took center stage at the PFA’s 50th anniversary awards ceremony. The Premier League title battle between the two clubs last season found its echoes in the recognition of their star players. Erling Haaland’s phenomenal record-breaking debut season secured him the prestigious Players’ Player of the Year award, while Bukayo Saka’s exceptional performances earned him the title of Young Player of the Year.

The awards ceremony, held at Manchester’s Lowry Theatre, paid tribute to a wide array of football stars from both the Premier League and Women’s Super League.

Haaland’s remarkable tally of 36 goals in his debut Premier League season propelled him to the top, making him a worthy recipient of the PFA men’s Players’ Player of the Year award. His arrival at Manchester City in the previous summer coincided with a flurry of goals that propelled the team to their third consecutive league title under the guidance of manager Pep Guardiola.

On the other side of the field, Bukayo Saka’s contributions were paramount in Arsenal’s pursuit of the title. The 21-year-old played a pivotal role in his team’s impressive campaign, ultimately securing the PFA men’s Young Player of the Year award. Saka’s consistency, involvement in all 38 of Arsenal’s Premier League matches, and his impressive tally of 15 goals and 11 assists made him a standout performer.

The honorees’ teams were also well represented in the PFA Premier League Team of the Year, where players from Manchester City and Arsenal claimed key positions. Arsenal’s Aaron Ramsdale took the No. 1 shirt, while his teammate William Saliba stood alongside Manchester City’s John Stones and Ruben Dias in the defensive line. Notably, Kieran Trippier, Newcastle United’s captain, secured a spot after leading his team to Champions League qualification for the first time in two decades.

See also  Napoli Faces Potential Legal Action from Victor Osimhen Over TikTok Video

The midfield was a blend of brilliance, featuring Manchester City’s Kevin De Bruyne and Rodri, alongside Arsenal’s Martin Odegaard. The attacking force comprised a trio of talent, with Saka and Haaland joined by Bayern Munich’s Harry Kane, who made a significant impact for Tottenham Hotspur before his move to Germany.

In the women’s category, Aston Villa’s Rachel Daly earned the title of PFA women’s Players’ Player of the Year after an exceptional campaign in which she netted 22 goals in as many games. Meanwhile, Chelsea’s Lauren James was recognized as the Young Player of the Year.


  • PFA men’s Players’ Player of the Year: Erling Haaland (Man City)
  • PFA men’s Young Player of the Year: Bukayo Saka (Arsenal)
  • PFA women’s Players’ Player of the Year: Rachel Daly (Aston Villa)
  • PFA women’s Young Player of the Year: Lauren James (Chelsea)

PFA Premier League Team of the Year: Aaron Ramsdale (Arsenal), John Stones (Man City), Ruben Dias (Man City), William Saliba (Arsenal), Kieran Trippier (Newcastle), Kevin De Bruyne (Man City), Rodri (Man City), Martin Odegaard (Arsenal), Harry Kane (Tottenham), Erling Haaland (Man City), Bukayo Saka (Arsenal)

PFA WSL Team of the Year: Mary Earps (Man United), Ona Batlle (Man United), Maya Le Tissier (Man United), Rafaelle Souza (Arsenal), Alex Greenwood (Man City), Guro Reiten (Chelsea), Frida Leonhardsen Maanum (Arsenal), Yui Hasegawa (Man City), Bunny Shaw (Man City), Sam Kerr (Chelsea), Rachel Daly (Aston Villa)

Similar Posts:

See also  Manchester United Secures Deal for Atalanta Striker Rasmus Hojlund

Leave a Reply