Nominations Unveiled for 2023 MTV Video Music Awards: Rema and Ayra Starr Lead Afrobeats Contenders

The nominations for the highly anticipated 2023 MTV Video Music Awards have been revealed, showcasing a diverse array of global musical talents. Leading the Afrobeats category are Rema and Ayra Starr, each securing multiple nominations.

Rema has been recognized in three distinct categories – Best Collaboration, Song of the Year, and the highly competitive Best Afrobeats category. Not far behind, Ayra Starr also captured attention with two nominations in the Best Afrobeats category.

The Best Afrobeats category is teeming with acclaimed artists, including Davido, Burna Boy, Wizkid, Asake, Fireboy DML, Libianca, and Musa Keys, all vying for the prestigious title. Voting for this category is now open.

However, the global music scene boasts its own dynamic contenders. Taylor Swift and SZA have surged ahead with a remarkable eight and six nominations respectively. These powerhouse artists have made their mark across multiple categories, particularly shining in the highly coveted Video of the Year. The likes of Doja Cat, Miley Cyrus, Nicki Minaj, Olivia Rodrigo, Sam Smith, and Kim Petras share the limelight with five nominations each.

Mark your calendars for September 12, as the ceremony is set to take place at the Prudential Centre in Newark, New Jersey. The nominees span various genres and reflect the vibrant diversity of the music industry.

Below are some of the notable nominations:

Best Afrobeats

  • Ayra Starr – “Rush”
  • Burna Boy – “It’s Plenty”
  • Davido ft. Musa Keys – “Unavailable”
  • Fireboy DML & Asake – ”Bandana”
  • Libianca – “People”
  • Rema & Selena Gomez – “Calm Down”
  • Wizkid ft. Ayra Starr – “2 Sugar”
See also  Tiwa Savage's Stellar Performance of “Keys to the Kingdom” at King Charles III's Coronation Concert in Windsor Castle

Video of the Year

  • Doja Cat – “Attention”
  • Miley Cyrus – “Flowers”
  • Nicki Minaj – “Super Freaky Girl”
  • Olivia Rodrigo – “Vampire”
  • Sam Smith & Kim Petras – “Unholy”
  • SZA – “Kill Bill”
  • Taylor Swift – “Anti-Hero”

Artist of the Year

  • Beyoncé
  • Doja Cat
  • Karol G
  • Nicki Minaj
  • Shakira
  • Taylor Swift

Song of the Year

  • Miley Cyrus – “Flowers”
  • Olivia Rodrigo – “Vampire”
  • Rema & Selena Gomez – “Calm Down”
  • Sam Smith & Kim Petras – “Unholy”
  • Steve Lacy – “Bad Habit”
  • SZA – “Kill Bill”
  • Taylor Swift – “Anti-Hero”

Best New Artist

  • GloRilla
  • Ice Spice
  • Kaliii
  • Peso Pluma
  • PinkPantheress
  • Reneé Rapp

Push Performance of the Year

  • August 2022: Saucy Santana – “Booty”
  • September 2022: Stephen Sanchez – “Until I Found You”
  • October 2022: JVKE – “golden hour”
  • November 2022: Flo Milli – “Conceited”
  • December 2022: Reneé Rapp – “Colorado”
  • January 2023: Sam Ryder – “All The Way Over”
  • February 2023: Armani White – “GOATED”
  • March 2023: Fletcher – “Becky’s So Hot”
  • April 2023: Tomorrow X Together – “Sugar Rush Ride”
  • May 2023: Ice Spice – “Princess Diana”
  • June 2023: FLO – “Losing You”
  • July 2023: Lauren Spencer Smith – “That Part”

Best Collaboration

  • David Guetta & Bebe Rexha – “I’m Good (Blue)”
  • Post Malone & Doja Cat – “I Like You (A Happier Song)”
  • Diddy ft. Bryson Tiller, Ashanti, Yung Miami – “Gotta Move On”
  • KAROL G & Shakira – “TQG”
  • Metro Boomin ft. The Weeknd, 21 Savage, Diddy – “Creepin’ (Remix)”
  • Rema & Selena Gomez – “Calm Down”

Best Pop

  • Demi Lovato – “Swine”
  • Dua Lipa – “Dance the Night”
  • Ed Sheeran – “Eyes Closed”
  • Miley Cyrus – “Flowers”
  • Olivia Rodrigo – “Vampire”
  • P!NK – “Trustfall”
  • Taylor Swift – “Anti-Hero”
See also  Rema Soars to New Heights with Electrifying SNL Debut Alongside Ice Spice

The nominations span various categories, each highlighting exceptional talent and innovation within the music industry. The 2023 MTV Video Music Awards promise to be an unforgettable event celebrating musical excellence across the globe.

Similar Posts:

Leave a Reply